Skip To Main Content

Select a School

Madison Metropolitan School District

Six MMSD Educators Honored with Rockwell Awards

Six MMSD Educators Honored with Rockwell Awards

Six Madison Metropolitan School District teachers will be presented with UW-Madison’s School of Education Rockwell Awards during an education celebration in mid-November. The Rockwell Awards recognize excellent educators who have chosen to pass on their expertise by providing professional experiences for UW-Madison student teachers.

The award ceremony will celebrate the 2020 and 2021 honorees. MMSD award winners include:

  • Angel Ericksen, Leopold Elementary third grade DLI teacher
  • Joshua Newland, Memorial High School art teacher
  • Tanya Jensen, Stephens Elementary speech language pathologist
  • Allison Milley, Stephens Elementary cross categorical teacher
  • Thomas Blau, Sennett Middle School language arts teacher
  • Peter Thompson, Sennett Middle School cross categorical teacher

Award winners are required to advise at least five UW-Madison student teachers, and demonstrate an ability to establish an inclusive classroom environment; model teaching skills and a passion for the profession; and provide effective guidance, feedback, and opportunities for student teachers.