Skip To Main Content

Select a School

Madison Metropolitan School District

MMSD Has 26 National Merit Scholar Semifinalists!

Congratulations MMSD Scholars!

This year, the Madison Metropolitan School District continued the tradition of having a remarkable number of National Merit Scholar Semifinalists, with 26 outstanding students who have achieved semifinalist status in the National Merit Scholarship Competition. This designation is based on high performance on the 202 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Less than one percent of the 1.5 million juniors nationwide who took the test were awarded semifinalist status. 

To become a finalist, students and their advisors must provide information about their academic record, their leadership abilities, participation in activities at school and around the community, and about any honors or awards they've received. Finalists are announced in February, and winners are selected from this pool and announced in the spring. 

Congratulations to our semifinalists!

East High School
Samuel Rickert

James Madison Memorial High School
Regan Banaszak, Thavida Johnston, Jacob Kennedy, Ananya Krishna, Amy Qiao, Felipe Rey, Julia Votava

West High School
Madeleine Ehlenbach, Simon Johnson, Madeline Arpaci-Dusseau, Sorin Caldararu, Emma Elsdon, Alice Hegeman, Chaunjie Jin, Simon Kissel, Clarissa Kuster, Abby Lin, Emilia Nicometo, Nana Osaki, Eliza Siebers, Anna Wang, Bailey Wieland, Phoebe Wrycha, Simon Yang, Rohan Yethiraj