Skip To Main Content

Select a School

Madison Metropolitan School District

Early College Education Academy

The Early College Education Academy is a partnership between the Madison Metropolitan School District and Madison College.

The Early College Education Academy is an NEW amazing opportunity afforded to  students interested in Education or an Education related field, the opportunity to get an early start and begin coursework towards this area of study while in high school. It is also a strategy to support the educator shortage in MMSD (Wisconsin) by providing a pathway for high school seniors to be introduced to a career in K12 education, and begin a course of study toward a bachelor’s degree. To that end, students from under-represented populations are the primary audience, as they embody the biggest gap in teacher representation across Wisconsin.

Early College Education Academy is designed for high school seniors to attend Madison College full time for free. Classes available at both Madison College’s Truax and Goodman South locations. Students will have the opportunity to complete up to 30 Madison College credits within the Liberal Arts Transfer-Education Associate Degree during the fall and spring semester of their senior year of high school. The Early College Education Academy at Madison College is aligned with transfer programs to finish your education training.

Application window will open on Monday, February 5th and close March 22nd, 2024

Apply Here

Students holding Madison College sign

All students are encouraged to apply, with a special emphasis on those that are traditionally underrepresented in educational related fields, including students who identify as male and students of color.

Virtual Informational Sessions

  • Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2024 
    (6-7 p.m.) Link
  • Tuesday, March 12, 2024  (6-7 p.m.) Link

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Information

For general questions about the program contact
Mary Jankovich  mjjankovich@madison.k12.wi.us  608-698-9511

Capital High - Marianne Matt  mmatt@madison.k12.wi.us

East - Sarah Elmore  selmore@madison.k12.wi.us

La Follette - Carrie Garlough  clgarlough@madison.k12.wi.us

Memorial - Karen Dominguez kcdominguez@madison.k12.wi.us

Shabazz - Elizabeth Long  emlong@madison.k12.wi.us

West - Jaime Alvis  jsalvis@madison.k12.wi.us
Joanna Williams  jbwilliams2@madison.k12.wi.us

Students sitting around a table at Madison College